Confirmed: Perak FA unveil official squad for 2016

Photo Credit: Perak FA

Perak FA have announced their squad list for the 2016 season of Malaysian football, though five player slots are still empty for the time being.

Vjeran Simunic has been booted out of his role after Perak’s frustrating Malaysia Cup campaign. Ex-Seladang Shamsul Saad has ben drafted in to be their new head coach, according to a statement that was released earlier today.

As far as the squad is concerned, they’ve maintained the core of young players that showed glimpses of their talent this year. But there is plenty of reasons to celebrate, as they managed to keep hold of their star men – Nurridzuan Abu Hassan as well as skipper Nasir Basharuddin.

Nurridzuan in particular, was closely linked with a move to JDT after Tunku Ismail publicly declared his interest in signing him for the Southern Tigers. But it appears that Perak have effectively convinced him to stay for one more year.

The Seladangs have also been boosted by the return of two Harimau Muda players in the form of Nazirul Naim and Kenny Palraj, after the program was disbanded by FAM last month.

Three foreign players [Horace James, Namkung Woong, Chad Souza] have been released while Thiago Aquino, who was arguably Perak’s most consistent player in 2015, has signed a new one-year deal and will be a part of their team next year.

Perak will continue the hunt to sign two additional local players as well three foreign players – who will be expected to spearhead their campaign next year.


1) Zamir Selamat
2) Hafizul Hakim
3) Syazani Puat

1) Thiago Junio
2) Hisyamuddin Sha’ari
3) Syazwan Roslan
4) Raffi Nagoorgani
5) Nazirul Naim
6) Amirul Azhan
7) Rafiq Faeez
8) Arif Ismail

1) Nasir Basharuddin
2) Kenny Pallraj
3) Sukri Abd Hamid
4) Norhakim Isa
5) Nurridzuan Abu Hassan
6) Fikri Sudin
7) Ridzuan Azly
8) Hafiz Ramdan

1) Khairul Asyraf Sahizah