OKS’ latest national squad: Amirulhadi returns, Khair Jones handed call-up

Photo Credit: Goal

Football Association of Malaysia has unveiled Datuk Ong Kim Swee’s latest Malaysian squad, and there are certainly several surprising inclusions.

Felda United’s Christie Jayaseelan has been included after a string of impressive performanes for the Fighters, while his teammate Abdul Latiff Suhaimi has also been included in the 25-man squad.

Selangor’s Hazwan Bakri has also returned to the team, having spent the last few months recovering from an injury. There’s also a spot for R. Gopinathan, who has been terrific for the Red Giants this season.

Johor DT’s Amirulhadi Zainal returns to the national squad after rediscovering his form with the Southern Tigers this year, and it already appears that Ong is keen on grooming Penang’s S. Kumaahran to become a prolific forward for the national team, judging by his inclusion in this squad.

The one name that you’d unfamiliar with is Melaka United’s Khair Jones, who is a New Zealand-born lad that was recently granted Malaysian passport to play in the MPL. His decent performances as a left-back seems to have caught the eye of Ong.


  1. Khairul Fahmi
  2. Izham Tarmizi
  3. Farhan Abu Bakar
  4. Matthew Davies
  5. S. Kunanlan
  6. Aidil Zafuan
  7. Fadhli Shas
  8. Junior Eldstal
  9. Shahrom Kalam
  10. Fazly Mazlan
  11. Khair Jones
  12. Fakri Saarani
  13. Brendan Gan
  14. Baddrol Bakthiar
  15. Latiff Suhaimi
  16. Amirul Hisyam
  17. Safiq Rahim
  18. Amirulhadi Zainal
  19. Gopinathan
  20. Azrif Nasrulhaq
  21. S. Chanturu
  22. Christie Jayaseelan
  23. S. Kumaahran
  24. Amri Yahya
  25. Hazwan Bakri